London marathon 2022 club places

So that everyone is aware of the system and there is no confusion regarding the FRR club Virgin Money London Marathon 2022 places, the system and current position is below:


If you’ve been rejected but would still like a chance to run, either 2022 or in a future London Marathon, we need your rejection notification.

The Rules

We expect to receive just 1 place this year, but this will be confirmed once the places have been allocated to us.

  • To qualify for an entry in the club lottery, you must have a current rejection slip (email or letter) from the TCS London Marathon 2022, be a first claim Felixstowe Road Runner and have entered the London Marathon ballot stating Felixstowe Road Runners as your club, rather than unattached or any other running club.
  • If you have been in the last three or more consecutive draws for London club places and failed to get a place you will get entered into the first pot. One name will be drawn from this pot.
  • Any unsuccessful members from the first pot get entered into pot two, along with all members that have been unsuccessful in the previous two years club draws. If we are allocated 2 or more places, one name will be drawn from this combined pot.
  • Any member who was in pot four last year and rejected this year will be entered into pot three (2 consecutive rejections). No name will be drawn from this pot, but will act as a record of application such that next year they are eligible for pot two.
  • Any member who applies for a club place in 2022, but did not apply for a place in 2021 will get entered into pot four. No name will be drawn from this pot, but it will act as a record of application such that next year they are eligible for pot three.
  • Any member lucky enough to represent FRR as result of the club places are ineligible to re-enter the draw (or pot system) for 3 years.
  • All rejection slips (by-hand to a club official) and emails (by email to must be received at least 1 week before the draw takes place.
  • The draw will take place during a Tuesday Night club briefing after the club’s allocation of places has been confirmed; the date of which will be announced in due course.

To summarise, each consecutive year that you submit a rejection you will be moved into a lower-numbered pot. We will draw one name from the first pot. If a second place is available, we will tip the remaining slips from the first pot into the second pot then draw one name from the combined slips there. Should we be allocated additional places, this process will repeat for pot three etc.

Previous FRR club place winners

YearFRR RepresentativesEligible to reapply for 2022?
2012Richard Smith, Adrian Hine and Pauline BarrYes
2013Richard Farnworth, Nigel Dadge and Roger StoneYes
2014Lesley Cooper, Martin Fuller and Luke WhitwellYes
2015Daniel Gould, Caroline Stafford and Rachel CrispYes
2016Ann Rideout and Sally SolomonYes
2017Steven King and Kevin WhelanYes
2018Dan Clark (deferred) and Mark BanhamYes
2019Rachel Palmer (deferred) and Liz BeightonNo
2020Jonny Miles and Ali Ostler (deferred)No
2021Shaun Good (deferred) and David SeymourNo

If anybody wishes to discuss this with the committee you are welcome to, but please remember that the club places are a privilege for all members, it is not a right for any particular member to be drawn in any year. I hope the whole club can get behind any members drawn to represent the club. No member has any more right to a club place than any other.

If you do obtain a place through the ballot, you are expected to wear club colours. This also makes it easier for supporters to identify you.

Places are not transferable. You may defer, for one year only, but need to pay the entry fee for both years in this case.

Current Pots for the London Marathon 2022 Draw

The names here are eligible for the respective pots. I will indicate where rejection slips have been received with a tick (✔) People who have confirmed that they won’t be in the draw are crossed out.

Pot one – 4 or more consecutive ballot rejections :

  • Collette Green ✔
  • Daniel Gould
  • David Mayes ✔
  • Ian Sillett ✔
  • Jackie Collins ✔
  • James Ellul
  • Jenny Church ✔
  • Joanna Blyth ✔
  • Justin Ostler
  • Marion Parker
  • Matthew Howe
  • Matt Makin
  • Nicola Stevenson ✔
  • Paul Osborne ✔
  • Zoila Reyes

Pot two – 3 consecutive ballot rejections :

  • Becky Ellul
  • Jackie Allport ✔
  • Richard Allport ✔
  • Rob Worthington ✔
  • Sally Solomon ✔

Pot three – 2nd consecutive ballot rejection  :

  • David Brewster
  • Gary Jarvis
  • James Nial
  • Kerry Buckley ✔
  • Kev Whelan ✔
  • Kirsty Marsh ✔
  • Linda Dorset
  • Rob Barker ✔
  • Sarah Banham ✔
  • Steve Blyth ✔
  • Tom Aykroyd

Pot four – 1st ballot rejection  :

  • Ben Hudson ✔
  • David Church ✔
  • John D Driver ✔
  • Jo Whelan ✔
  • Paul Schwer ✔
  • Andy Metcalfe ✔
  • Chris Boyt ✔
  • Debbie Catling ✔
  • Danielle Wright ✔
  • Henry Catling ✔
  • …..

You may also like...