Virgin London Marathon 2018 Club Places

So that everyone is aware of the system and there is no confusion regarding the FRR club Virgin London Marathon 2018 places I have detailed the system and current position below:

The Rules

  • To qualify for an entry in the club lottery, you must have a current rejection slip (email or letter) from the Virgin London Marathon 2018, be a first claim Felixstowe Road Runner and have entered the London Marathon ballot stating Felixstowe Road Runners as your club, rather than unattached or any other running club. The club rules assume three club places are allocated to Felixstowe Road Runners.
  • If you have been in the last two or more consecutive draws for London club places and failed to get a place you instantly get entered into the first pot. One name is drawn from this pot.
  • Any unsuccessful members from the first pot get entered into pot two, along with all members that have been unsuccessful in the previous year’s club draw. One name is drawn from this pot.
  • Any unsuccessful members from the second pot get entered into pot three, along with all members that have been unsuccessful in the previous year’s club draw. One name is drawn from this pot.
  • Any members apply for a club place in 2018, but did not apply for a place in 2017 will get entered into pot three.
  • Any members lucky enough to represent FRR as result of the club places are ineligible to re-enter the draw for 3 years.
  • All rejection slips (by-hand to a club official) and emails (by email to must be received before midnight on Monday 16th October 2017.
  • The draw will take place during the Tuesday Night club briefing on the 17th October 2017.

Previous FRR Representatives

Year FRR Representatives Eligible to reapply for 2018?
2012 Richard Smith, Adrian Hine and Pauline Barr Yes
2013 Richard Farnworth, Nigel Dadge and Roger Stone Yes
2014 Lesley Cooper, Martin Fuller and Luke Whitwell Yes
2015 Daniel Gould, Caroline Stafford and Rachel Crisp No
2016 Ann Rideout and Sally Solomon No
2017 Steven King and Kevin Whelan No

If anybody wishes to discuss this with me, you are welcome to, but please remember that the club places are a privilege for all members, it is not a right for any member to be drawn in any year. I hope the whole club can get behind any members drawn to represent the club. No member has any more right to a club place than any other.

If you do obtain a place through the ballot, you are expected to wear club colours. This also makes it easier for supporters to identify you.

Current Pots for the London Marathon 2018 Draw

[I will indicate below where rejection slips have been received with a tick (✔)]

Pot one (Chance of being picked 18.19%):

  1. Neil Catley ✔
  2. Paul Schwer ✔
  3. Amanda Smith ✔
  4. Jo Whelan ✔
  5. Richard Wilkins  ✔
  6. Daniel Shanks ✔
  7. Peter Woods ✔
  8. Will Schwer
  9. Jonathan Jenkyn ✔
  10. Mark Banham ✔

Pot two (Chance of being picked 7.08%):

  1. Paul Osborne ✔
  2. Jo Dickinson ✔
  3. Emma Day ✔
  4. Zoila Reyes ✔
  5. Jackie Collins
  6. Liz Beighton ✔
  7. Nicola Stevenson ✔
  8. David Seymour
  9. Reno Reynolds ✔
  10. Daniel Clark ✔
  11. Jonathan Miles ✔
  12. Erika Downs ✔
  13. Carla Wiggins
  14. Alastair Read ✔
  15. David Mayes
  16. Matthew Howe ✔

Pot Three (Chance of being picked 2.08%):

  1. Sarah Fitch ✔
  2. Tim Parnell ✔
  3. Richard Wold ✔
  4. Angela Soames ✔
  5. Rachel Dixey ✔
  6. Kate Long ✔
  7. Ian Duggan ✔
  8. Helen Duggan ✔
  9. Gemma Beckett ✔
  10. Jon Glanfield ✔
  11. Adrian Kudela ✔
  12. Marion Parker ✔
  13. Jimmy Russell ✔
  14. Lee Crisp ✔
  15. Carita Farthing ✔
  16. Luke Whitwell ✔
  17. Karen Eaton ✔
  18. Adele Chaplin ✔
  19. James Ellul ✔
  20. Rebecca Foster ✔
  21. Rebecca Gilbert ✔
  22. Adam Brett 
  23. Shaun Good ✔
  24. Ali Ostler ✔
  25. Anika Shenfield ✔
  26. Alyson Challis ✔
  27. Rachel Palmer ✔
  28. Jason Ashford ✔
  29. Shane Allum ✔

You may also like...